2016 Annual Report

We welcome you to...

Dream With Us, our 2016 Video Annual Report. The state of the Reconstructionist movement is strong. Our 100-plus congregations and havurot are thriving, and this year we continue to dream together through our new person-to-person networks that connect us across our geographic divides. We pride ourselves on being a “community of communities,” a movement large enough to create big new ideas with national and even international impact, while still sufficiently human-sized so that individual voices and identities matter. We recently conferred the title of rabbi upon a stellar graduating class of changemakers. Each of them will take on challenging positions across North America, to work in congregations, social justice organizations, hospitals and religious schools. In this day and age, becoming a religious leader is an extraordinary commitment, and we are honored to invite next year’s class to join us in the work we do to create transformative and welcoming Jewish communities.

From the beginning, we have balanced pragmatism with dreaming. We invite you to dream with us, and share with us your dreams for Jewish life. We welcome you to our congregations and to the virtual community we create on Facebook and through our monthly e-publications. Our summer camp, Camp JRF, dreamt of a place where Jewish children can be who they are, and the devoted staff makes that dream a reality every summer. We dreamt of communities that truly nurture our Jewish tradition and creativity, and we support them every day of the year. We dreamt of rabbis who can lead us ahead through all the challenges we face as individuals, as a movement and as a connected and global Jewish community, and we have integrated a new curriculum into our rabbinical training program that helps us do just that. Step by step, we are leading the Jewish community into the future. 2016 has been a good year, and we invite you to dream with us into the next one.

Rabbi Deborah Waxman, Ph.D.


(Statement of financial position (audited) as of August 31, 2015.)

Board of Governors


David Roberts
vice chair
Susan Beckerman
Vice Chair
Seth Rosen
Howard Kerbel
Karen Kolodny
Donald L. Shapiro
Aaron Ziegelman


Howard Blitman
Joseph N. Cohen
William H. Fern, Ph.D.
Hans Grunwald, M.D.
Herbert Krasnow
David Kuney
Daniel Levin
Michael Lurey
Harold Magid
Jonathan Markowitz
Mark Nussbaum
Rabbi Debra Rappaport
Rabbi Steven Carr Reuben, Ph.D.
John Riehl
Miriam Roland
Eric Rosenbaum
Myrna Sameth
Myrna Sigman
Rabbi Avi Winokur
Rabbi Lina Zerbarini


Hon. Abraham Clott
Chair, Congregational Services Committee and Chair of the Plenum
Professor Joel Hecker, Ph.D.
RRC Faculty Representative
Kenneth Hutton
Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Administrative Officer
Rabbi Joshua Lesser
Chair, Tikkun Olam Commission
Rabbi Nina Mandel
President, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association
Michael Mitchell
Chair, Movement Growth and Financial Health Commission
Josh Peskin, Ph.D.
Vice President for Strategic Advancement
Rabbi Amber Powers
Vice President for Student Development
Rabbi Isaac Saposnik
Director, Camp JRF
Judith Spatz
Representative, Jewish Reconstructionist Camping Corporation
Hannah Spiro
RRC Student Representative
Elsie Stern, Ph.D.
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Rabbi Elyse Wechterman
Director, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association
Rabbi Deborah Waxman, Ph.D.

Thank You!
To our current and future Supporters